Two Blogs to Watch

We don’t have a lot of regular commenters here at The Sports Phd, but we do have a few.  I’d like to point you toward two blogs from our commenter.

First, check out Prince of Slides. The author comments here as Millsy. He writes primarily about questions at the intersection of sports and economics. He also does some work on fantasy baseball. If you have an interest in either subject, his blog is worth checking out.

Second, check out Verdun2’s Blog. The author comments here under either v or Verdun2. This blog is still rather new, but it already has a pair of interesting posts about baseball history up. If you are interested in the history of the game, this is one to keep an eye on.

What other blogs are out there that you would like to recommend? Feel free to promote blogs that are linked through the sidebar or any other blogs imaginable.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

5 Comments on “Two Blogs to Watch”

  1. verdun2 Says:

    Thanks for the shout out.
    This could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship.
    v

  2. Millsy Says:

    Thanks for the shout out. Perhaps this started up all the trouble. Lol. I welcome it, and hope that, despite the dissent and apparently offended readers, it can be productive in some way.

    • sportsphd Says:

      If this started things, I can’t say that was quite what I expected. Glad I can drag anybody to your blog, though, because I think it is good.

      • Millsy Says:

        Much of the criticism of my post has been very productive and well reasoned. I can understand why some are offended, but I hope that some of the points are taken well. While I do generalize to a large community, I’ve tried to make clear that I think there are numerous contributions. I’ll have a new post up this week explaining myself and what sparked the post (really, it was simply the irrational reaction to Bradbury’s “Hot Stove Myths” article–and article in which Tango seems to agree the response was quite silly).

        I hope to include some information about the academic world, where the difficulties may lie, and how both sides could do a better job. Obviously, I have to be diplomatic with that, given they’re the ones that decided whether or not I get to be in the academic club. So I’m taking my time and not taking things lightly.


Leave a Reply

